Give Your Holiday Season a Healthy Start- Action for Healthy Kids

Great resources from Action for Health Kids, http://www.actionforhealthykids.org/

Healthy Holiday Celebrations in the Classroom    
052.jpgWith the winter holiday season upon us, this is a great time for teachers to create excitement around nutritional choices during their classroom celebrations.The effort will help kids – and their parents – understand that nutritious food is also fun food. Get ideas for your classroom here and here. >>>  

Healthy Holiday Celebrations at Home  fruitcake_eatright.org.jpg  
It’s the time of year when many of us are thinking about holiday dinners, office celebrations … and resisting the urge to stray from a healthy course. If you count yourself in that group, don’t worry. Our partner, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, has some great ideas to help you enjoy the holidays the healthy way. And, be sure to check out these great tips for helping kids make healthy choices at home during the holidays and year-round.


Students Wake Up to Healthy Habits   
   
Wake-up club.3.JPGColleen Wegimont, a Health and PE teacher in Harleysville, Pennsylvania, didn’t think students were getting enough physical activity during the school day. So, she formed a before school  “Wake-Up Club” to give the kids just what they needed for a healthy start. Find out how it worked. >>>  

Fuel Up to Play 60 Super Bowl Breakfast Challenge   fuel up to play 60    
Breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day. (As shown in our 2004 report, The Learning Connection: The Value of Improving Nutrition and Physical Activity in Our Schools, increased participation in breakfast programs is associated with increased academic test scores, improved daily attendance, and better class participation.) Fuel Up to Play 60 wants to hear students’ best ideas for a tasty oatmeal breakfast creation they could share with friends at school. The two winning ideas each get a pair of tickets to Super Bowl XLVII in New Orleans and a $1,000 grant to help put their oatmeal breakfast ideas in place in their schools!

The Super Bowl Breakfast Challenge ends December 3, 2012, so hurry and share your idea! 

Upcoming Educational Events  

Each of the Webinars listed below is free and open to the public.

Fuel Up to Play 60: Become a Leader in Your School
Have you heard about Fuel Up to Play 60 and wondered what the buzz is all about? Come learn about this program reaching nearly 73,000 U.S. schools. Join the ranks of over 20,000 Fuel Up to Play 60program advisors in leading your students and your school to better health. You’ll learn about program basics, what it means to be a program advisor (along with the perks that accompany the role), and how to apply for Fuel Up to Play 60 funds during our 30-minute Webinar, Fuel Up to Play 60: Become a Leader in Your School. You can attend on the following dates: 

December 10th, 12 p.m. ET; 11 a.m. CT; 10 a.m. MT; 9 a.m. MT. 

Register now >>>
 

January 22nd, 2 p.m. ET; 1 p.m. CT; 12 p.m. MT; 11 a.m. PT. 

Register now >>>

Alternative Breakfast: Targeting High Schools 
Have you ever noticed that what works with elementary schools fails when incorporated at the high school level? Learn how to make the necessary changes and pick up key strategies for engaging students and creating a successful breakfast model so you can create a high school breakfast programs with our Webinar, Alternative Breakfast: Targeting High Schools, on December 4th,  4 p.m. ET; 3 p.m. CT; 2 p.m. MT; 1 p.m. PT.

Register now >>>  

Parent Leadership Series: How to Create a Healthier School Food Culture
The school food culture goes way beyond the cafeteria. Children need to learn how to make healthy choices from the minute they walk in the school’s front door to the minute they leave at the end of the school day – and beyond. You’ll learn about the benefits of a healthy school food culture and get  project ideas and resources for healthy fundraisers, healthy celebrations and family events, healthy snacks, non-food rewards, nutrition education and promotion, concessions, and competitive foods (vending, school stores and a la carte) during our Webinar, How to Create a Healthier School Food Culture, onDecember 11th, 2 p.m. ET; 1 p.m. CT; 12 p.m. MT; 11 a.m. PT.  

Register now >>>  

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s